Before It’s Too Late

Sometimes it’s hard to face the challenges,
but it’s even harder if your lonely.
It hurts to know that no one cares.

Someday, when you’ll actually understand me,
you’ll realize all the times you were wrong I didn’t say a word,
but when I’m wrong, I just become a laughing stock.

The days I tried to fake a smile, to fake a laugh, to fake that I’m strong
were the days that I’ll always remember, because I realized that
No one can see those tears I’ve been holding back,
no one can see the pain I’ve been through.

Maybe not today, nor tomorrow
but someday I know that someone will understand me…
But I just hope that it won’t be too late.

Understand me,
before I’m gone.
Understand me,
before it’s too late

I smile, to hold back the tears.
I laugh, to hold back the pain.
Don’t judge me, unless you truly know me.

I wondered if someday
someone would truly understand me,
but that someone never came.

It’s hard to move on,
it’s hard to let go of the pain
which once held you hostage.

Fake a smile,
everyone thinks your happy.
Stand up for yourself,
everyone thinks your selfish.

I try to fix myself,
my broken heart and my broken trust.
But it’s really hard,
to gain something which you’ve lost.

With an empty heart, I wonder where I’ll ever go.
Maybe not today, nor tomorrow
but someday I know that someone will understand me…
But I just hope that it won’t be too late.

(Written at the age of 12)

-Z

2 thoughts on “Before It’s Too Late

Leave a Reply

