Me And My Imagination

When the sun goes down,
and the stars come up
Excitement arises within me.

I turn my thinking cap on,
and shut the reality off
Because now everything is in my control.

I play with the child in me
dancing to the music of the night.
Not letting anything get in my way
and being free from what they expect me to be.

All the children are fast asleep,
but I’m still wide awake.
With my eyes open in fascination,
admiring the beauty of the stars above.

I take my cape
and fly across the skies.
Gently playing with the clouds
and feeling the adrenaline in my veins.

I look at the moon,
raised high with pride
And smile beneath its moonlight.

I feel like I’m on top of the world,
and everything’s in my control
I am the king of this world.

But every good thing comes to an end
and I bid farewell to my beautiful night.
As the sun comes back up,
awakening everything big and small.

I slip off into a deep slumber
with a smile on my face.
Because my imagination is my happy place
and not even the sun can take it away from me.

-Z

4 thoughts on “Me And My Imagination

Leave a Reply

